Electoral history

Local elections

In the 2017 elections for Shropshire Council, Labour retained 8 seats and lost 1 seat. The party held Bayston Hill, Column and Sutton (with 52.8% of votes cast), Belle Vue (43.0%), Castlefields and Ditherington (74.2%), Harlescott (57.1%), Monkmoor (71.1%), and Sundorne (73.9%), while losing Broseley (39.4%).

Labour retained its place as the largest party on Shrewsbury Town Council with 7 seats.

In the 2013 elections for Shropshire Council, Labour gained Monkmoor and Sundorne from the Conservatives and held their remaining 7 seats.

Labour gained control of Shrewsbury Town Council in 2013, winning 7 of 17 seats and 44.4% of the vote compared to 36.3% for the Conservatives and 17.7% for the Liberal Democrats. The party successfully gained Column, Monkmoor, and Sundorne.

In the first elections to Shropshire Council in 2009, Labour won 7 seats: in the single-member divisions of Belle Vue, Broseley, Castlefields and Ditherington, and Harlescott, as well as 3 members in the Bayston Hill, Column and Sutton division. The party won three seats on Shrewsbury Town Council, subsequently gaining Harlescott in a 2010 by-election.

Local by-elections

In April 2019, Labour won the Belle Vue by-election (with 47.1% of the vote) and is contesting the Meole by-election due on 15 August 2019.

In 2016, Labour came third place in by-elections in Oswestry South (with 9.0% of the vote) and Bishop’s Castle (6.7%). In 2015, Labour held Belle Vue (47.4%) and came second in Oswestry East (18.6%) and Meole (26.6%).

Labour polled 7.3% in Ludlow South in 2014 and 19.5% in Church Stretton & Craven Arms in 2012. In 2011 they achieved 23.1% in Quarry & Coton Hill and 5.3% in Bishop’s Castle.

Before 2009

Previously, Shropshire was divided into a county council and the five district councils of Bridgnorth, North Shropshire, Oswestry, Shrewsbury and Atcham, and South Shropshire. Labour led Shropshire County Council, supported by the Liberal Democrats, between 2001 and 2005. The Conservatives gained a narrow majority in the 2005 elections, where Labour won 9 of 48 seats. Labour won 11 of 44 seats in 2001 and 8 of 44 in 1997.

Labour was in minority control of Shrewsbury and Atcham Borough Council for most years in the 1990s and early 2000s. Labour was the largest party on the borough council from 1995 to 2002 and 1990 to 1992.

See more detail about Labour’s electoral history in Shropshire here.

Parliamentary elections

There are currently no Labour MPs in Shropshire.

Previously, Telford elected Labour MPs until 2015 when the seat was narrowly lost by 730 votes. In the 2017 election the majority was reduced to 720 votes. Under its current boundaries, created in 1997, The Wrekin constituency elected Labour MPs until 2005.

Shrewsbury and Atcham elected a Labour MP for the first time in 1997, and the party was re-elected in 2001 with an even bigger majority. Labour narrowly lost in 2005 by 1,808 votes. After coming third in 2010, Labour increased its vote share by 7.3% points in 2015, finishing second to the Conservatives. In 2017 Labour increased its vote share by 10.7% points, maintaining second place.

The North Shropshire and Ludlow constituencies have never elected Labour MPs – though the party came close in 1997 in North Shropshire (short by 2,195 votes). In Ludlow, Labour polled no higher than third place from 1974 until 2017 when the party increased its vote share by 12.0% points and achieved second place.

Regional elections

In the 2019 European Parliament elections, Labour polled 7.2% of the vote in the Shropshire Council area and for the wider West Midlands constituency the party won 1 of 7 MEPs. In the 2014 elections, Labour polled 14.3% of the vote in Shropshire (winning 2 of 7 MEPs in the wider West Midlands). In previous elections Labour achieved 1 of 6 MEPs in 2009, 2 of 7 in 2004, and 3 of 8 in 1999. For the Herefordshire and Shropshire constituency in 1994, Labour won the single-member seat with 36.7% of the vote.

In the police and crime commissioner (PCC) election in 2016, Labour polled 17.2% of Shropshire votes in the first round (and 21.4% in the wider West Mercia area). In the second round, Labour polled 35.4% of Shropshire votes (and 39.7% in West Mercia). In 2012, Labour achieved 21.2% in the first round in Shropshire (and 25.7% in West Mercia).